Strawberry Jam


Ever since I can remember my family has made jam in the summer. There was the occasional experimental variety, but there was always strawberry. In fact, my weekend was spent not only making jam, but also making phone calls because my family was making jam too and we had to keep checking in with each other. (My sister just called to tell me that they’ve hit a new record this year…95 jars….and counting. That will be divided among 3 families though, so it will all get eaten!)

The kiddos and I picked 3 flats on Friday morning, an impressive feat considering the 92 degrees we had that day. We were surprised at how different the berries are here in Utah. Not really better or worse than Oregon berries, just very different. Adjusting is getting easier, 8 months ago I might have cried over the berries being different, now I roll with it and embrace it for what it is……for the most part.

Different berries called for a different recipe. So I used my knowledge of childhood jam making and inspiration from my friend Joy to concoct this sweet and smooth jam. It’s a good cross between heavy jam and a light ice cream topping. The right consistency and sweetness for our taste.

Strawberry Jam

  • 4 cups berries, mash or puree
  • 3 Tbsp no/low sugar pectin
  • 1/2 cup Agave syrup
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice

Of course, first you have to hull the berries, which requires an orderly plan…….

Only then do you get to mash and blend up the berries. Measure out 4 cups of berries…..

We’ve always used a potato masher, but we found our berries here to be much to firm for that to be successful and eventually resorted to the blender…..

Bring the berries to a light boil on the stove and stir in the pectin.

Bring to a second boil, remove from heat and stir in the agave and lemon juice.

Your jars should be all washed, cleaned, open and ready to pour so that you can fill them easily at this point. There’s the obvious rules of leaving space at the top of your jar and closing them tight before they go in the freezer….but you know all that stuff!

If you don’t have a buddy in the kitchen it helps to set up some music or entertainment in the background. Fortunately for me the USA track and field championships were streaming live from my hometown, so I had something to keep me sane and happy while I worked.

I had one bowl licker who kept finding her way into the kitchen to test each batch and eventually decided to stake a claim on her own personal jar of jam…..

Don’t worry we didn’t turn all 3 flats into jam. We also sent several pounds of berries to the freezer for later use in smoothies and snacks.

Peanut butter and jelly bliss. Life is good.

This entry was posted in emily, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry Jam

  1. wendy says:

    Love that first photo with the strawberry flats 🙂 This is the straw that’s breaking the camel’s back for me…I’m going to schedule a farm trip and a “jam session” for this week!

  2. Do it! I only wish I could tag along and help you fill your baskets! I miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

