My cute new curtains need some help!

Most of the windows in our house still had curtains hanging when we moved in last fall. It was nice to not have to rush out and buy curtains, but most of them are pretty haggard and unattractive. There were a few that were taken down immediately despite not having replacements, but some have been tolerated for the better part of a year.

Painting the kitchen/dining room has been on my mind a lot lately and I’m toying with the idea of a light turquoise blue color for the decor. I had a remnant of fabric that cost me $1 at Scrap that was the perfect length for the large dining room window and is exactly the shade of blue I’m loving. But alas, once I sewed and hung them I realized the finished curtain is way too short for the giant window.

I need help. What do you think? Leave it for now and let it simmer in my brain? Toss the blue aside and go a totally different route? Or is there some uber-creative idea out there that could salvage this cute little curtain and make it work that I am completely missing??

 

This entry was posted in emily, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My cute new curtains need some help!

  1. maybe put some sheers (shears?) underneath?

    -sarah

  2. wendy says:

    That is a cute little curtain and I think you should hang it in the cute little playhouse! Gingham is cute (it reminds me of Dorothy from Oz), but…maybe too cute for a dining room where you’ll want to sometimes be formal. When dressing the window, consider the composition of the whole wall. Will you be putting art on the wall? Also, don’t feel confined to the square that is the window. I envision long curtains that begin well outside the window margins in a neutral color with accents in that pretty blue. Love that color; can’t wait to see what you do!

  3. I like curtains tall and wide to make the optical illusion of a larger window. What about getting some el-cheapo plain white curtains and using the blue gingham as an accent—either a ruffle on the edge or a stripe appliqued on to the curtain. I love the blue gingham, but you’re right that it is way too tiny for that nice big window.

  4. Emily says:

    Thanks for the input. I’m thinking long and white. Maybe I can pull it off keeping these on top with a double rod?? I will certainly keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

