beach ball play quilt

(from sarah)

Here it is finished and done – the quilt that was giving me so much trouble late last week.

I think I might start calling it the Beach Ball Quilt.

I’m rather thrilled with it. I’m rather thrilled with most quilts these days. I love their crinkliness.

(Yes, I just decided that was a word.)

I’ve been seeing a lot of color wheels in the sewing and crochet books I’ve been looking at and thought it would be fun to make a very simple color wheel quilt. My other thought with making a round quilt was to make something to lay out on the ground at a friend’s house or at the park or where ever we happen to be as a place to play or to lay or to just be a bit seperated from the ground. I didn’t want it to be a normal blanket that was sometimes on a bed and sometimes on the grass or sand. Turns out it also works as a fun rug.

I like that it folds into a triangle.

I decide to make bias tape for the binding. It is a touch time consuming, but really quite simple to make. And when you do it yourself you have so many more options of what sort of fabric to use.

My backing was not quite wide enough to fit the entire circle so I added a strip of white with the words “play…laugh…dream” sewn onto it. I’m completely hopeful there will some dreaming going on in the midst of all the floor playing.

Can I just tell you that writing legible words with a sewing machine is rather challenging? Let’s just say there’s a reason I’m not including an up close, focused in on the words picture.

So there it is. It’s a little less than four feet across. Yay! I love it.

 

This entry was posted in Celebrate the boy, quilt, sarah, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to beach ball play quilt

  1. emily* says:

    That is seriously awesome. I am so very impressed!

  2. Cute! I was just telling Calvin that I wanted to make a rug “something or other” for our kids’ room…

    One of those bias tape makers has been on my wish list for ages. I’ve decided that I’m tired of doing it by hand. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Michele

  3. Leslie says:

    that turned out awesome.

  4. Mom says:

    I LOVE it! So cute

  5. anne says:

    I love it, too!!!

Leave a Reply

