Easy baby boy crochet hat

(from sarah)

Meet George. He was our first babydoll we ever purchased. He’s been loved. A lot. I thought maybe he could help me model a tiny baby hat, but alas, George is just too small.

So I turned to Melissa. She’s been loved a lot too. But she’s a girl and therefore not suitable for demonstrating boy projects.

Which meant I had to turn to the old ‘lay it out on a white posterboard’ method. Not quite as much fun.

But this hat is still fun. And quick. You can whip up one of these hats easily in an evening.

I used this pattern and modified it a bit to fit a newborn. I obviously stopped before adding the fold up brim and made the total hat length a bit shorter. It’s 11 double crochet rows from top to bottom (not including brim) instead of 13.  Then I single crocheted around the bottom until I got to the point where I wanted to start my brim. I double crocheted 2 rows and finished the single crochet around the edge. Then I made an…ummm…top piece(? what is that called?) by chaining until it was a little longer than the brim, and then making two rows of double crochet. Finish it by sewing it on and attaching wooden buttons.

One of these days I’m going to work up a real pattern. Someday.

This entry was posted in Celebrate the boy, crochet, hat, sarah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy baby boy crochet hat

  1. Bopp says:

    Again I say wow!

  2. Ada says:

    Very Cute- Just what I was looking for

Leave a comment