A new skill

(from Sarah)

I’ve been doing a lot of crocheting lately. I wanted to knit, but couldn’t quite get the hang of circular needles, and then a friend offered to show me how to crochet and I figured sure why not? Turns out, I totally dig it.

Although, honestly I’d like to find a new name. “Crochet” just sounds….lame. But anyway. I’ve been bookmarking tutorials and buying yarn and pattern books like crazy. I spent $40 on yarn yesterday. And it was on sale. Yikes!

I’m working on a few different things right now.

First off, a blanket for the new munchkin we’re expecting in March.

Dude. These things take a loooong time. I started this a few months ago, although I didn’t start work on in regularly until late December. I’m about 2/3 of the way through. So it’s been at least three weeks of steady blanket crocheting and I’m still not done. When I first started I was a little shocked by how long crocheting took compared to say, sewing.  In the first week or so all I could think was “I could have sewn 5 blankets in this amount of time!” Now I’m beginning to appreciate the slowness of it all. It’s meditative. And the best part – I don’t have to be sitting up in a hard chair – I can crochet in a rocking chair or laying in bed watching (alright, really I’m just listening) to whatever show I’ve found online.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new skill

  1. Pingback: Some new craft muscles | at the table

  2. Pingback: Off the hook | at the table

Leave a Reply

