Counting down to Christmas

We used to have a really nice advent calendar that I had sewed together over a few years and last year it was finally finished. It took its inspiration from this one over at The Purl Bee.  However, somehow we have misplaced one box of Christmas goodness. I didn’t realize it immediately, but a few days after decorating I started thinking about a few choice items that were missing from our holiday decor….. most importantly the advent calendar.

So yesterday I began a replacement. Ideally we’ll find that missing box, but just in case we don’t I wanted to create something that would be reusable, festive and attractive (also simple and cheap!).  Enter cards and envelopes, 3×5 cards, and scrapbook paper.
The 3×5 cards corners are slipped into little cuts I made in the cards, that way rearranging or replacing activities in future years will be simple.


I had lots of helpers with cutting and gluing for the first half hour….. then I was on my own. The toddler in our house is potty training, so little treat breaks for all of us was a necessity.
I’ve got 14 envelopes done. 11 to go. Let’s just hope that string taped to bricks (bad idea) holds when all 25 are clipped up there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Counting down to Christmas

  1. Dan Cox says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!! LOVE YOU GUYS BUNCHES!!!

  2. France says:

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no data
    backup. Do you have any solutions to prevent
    hackers?

  3. Reuben says:

    I’m not sure why but this web site is loading very slow
    for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still
    exists.

Leave a Reply

